PDA

View Full Version : LCO calls me to complain!! ??

MOW ED
09-15-2009, 09:22 AM
Let me set this up for you and see how you would have handled it.
I have a long time customer who has a small commercial building that I have taken care of for about 14 years. I do the full boat there, mow edge, fert and weed. He moved his personal residence to a water front about 3 years ago and asked me to bid on it. It is a sloping property that is irrigated by water from the river. I usually work solo and know that there was an LCO already mowing here and of course my bid was much higher than his. No problem. The customer did ask me to do the weed control application at this property because this other LCO is not an applicator. I have been doing this for the last 3 years both in the spring and in the fall.
I was just there last week to spray and I use my Walker that has a boom set up on it. Now I know that the property is difficult and I went in the afternoon so it wouldn't be as wet as if it was in the morning but there was one area on a slope that is constantly wet. In spite of me being very careful I spun a little there. It is an area that isn't full growth because of the slope. It wasn't a big deal. The lawn as a whole was being mowed pretty high and when I was there it needed cutting but I was there to spray which I did. I adjusted my track and in doing so it matted the long grass in a way that made it look flatter than usual because it was not in the same track it was mowed at but it did not damage the lawn.
I come home the next day and there is a message on the machine from someone claiming to be at this address telling me that I tore the grass up and I should be more careful on the lawn. Initially the tone was OK but as the message progressed this a-hole started to become agitated and started to say how he can use a big "frickin" mower on this property and not do any "frickiN" damage. Basically being a jack off. He did leave his number if I had any questions.