PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain "overseeding"?

aVOLanche
09-15-2009, 11:28 AM
Background:I have a smallish yard that is 6 years old.It was sod from the start(tall fescue) and there are now large areas of clover,some chickweed, crabgras,etc.I'd like to improve the weed situation,but am not anal about a perfect yard.There are no bare spots.

Question:Is overseeding going to be of much benefit?And exactly what is "overseeding"?It seems to vary from just broadcasting seed to dethatching ,aeration,adding topsoil,fertilizer,etc.

So,will just broadcasting seed this fall help the situation?Most of my weeds are broadleaf.If I kill them in the spring or early summer will I be left with bare areas?When should I do the seeding?

I am really new at lawn-care(grass!) because I spent the last 30 years with a lake lot and no grass....just heavily landscaped and wooded.

Thanks for any help!! Fred

MarcSmith
09-15-2009, 12:29 PM
just tossing seed down will have some success. if you combine and aeration with that you get better results. if you ad fert to the mix, even better results, topdress and dethatch, could get even better results.

but if you get crappy weather, hot and dry and you don't water it...its all for naught...

here on campus the heavily trafficked areas I aerate, over seed, and then do 4 fert apps from September-april.

in the less traveled areas. I won't aerate as often once every few years, but still overseed and do 4 fert apps...

aVOLanche
09-15-2009, 01:16 PM
Thanks,Marc
Sounds like just broadcsting the seed won't get very good results.I have an irrigation system,but our weather this year has been great(lots more rain here than usual-yards are all well hydrated) and I never even turned it on.....so it's still winterized.If I turn it on I'll be out $60-75 to have someone blow it out.Guess I need to figure that into the cost of whatever is done.