PDA

View Full Version : Sub Contracting and just starting up

MikeWeingand
09-15-2009, 01:15 PM
Hey guys first post here as im new to the forum. Anyway I'm a full time college student in bloomington,il and work for a local LCO but am planning on starting my own business and going to school part time in the spring. Since we have two insurance national headquarters (State Farm and Country) and 4 colleges in this town there are alot of people with alot of money with yards that they want mowed haha. Anyway my main question is my girlfriends dad is the regional manager of tru-green here and has a bunch of yards to sub contract out for mowing and im curious what some of the more experienced, professionals thoughts are on sub contracting. I know it would be a good way to get my name out there but im not sure if the money is there. I attached an image of my logo that i made as well just for some thoughts on it :laugh: Any other starting up tips would be appreciated.

HOOLIE
09-15-2009, 01:34 PM
Subcontracting is not a bad thing necessarily, you just want to have a good idea of how you'll be paid, and when :) Since you have connections hopefully it will be a good situation. I sub out work and pay promptly but I seem to be out of the norm.

MikeWeingand
09-15-2009, 01:39 PM
thats good to know.. should i still do a bid on it or just let them dictate the pricing on the lawns

CSL&L
09-16-2009, 08:36 PM
The contrator is the one who bids the properties. Then hires you. Do not bid on the properties

SangerLawn
09-17-2009, 12:33 AM
Few things here that concern me.

First it is for your girl friend’s dad. If you two break up is he going to boot you? Don’t give me the line you don’t believe you will ever break up because no one ever plans on that…..think about what if you do.

Second, subcontracting normally means you get the crappy left over work that no one else wants.