PDA

View Full Version : anybody have a john deere gs30 mower?

sunstateturk
09-15-2009, 06:26 PM
i'm looking at a 36", 2002 john deere gs30 mower with very few hours on it...

anybody own one? any opinions, problems or concerns?

thanks,
turk
longwood, fl

whole9er
09-15-2009, 08:15 PM
I just bought one about a month ago, I found out mines a 99. Its leaves a great cut and im having fun figuring the thing out. I really like the drive system, its little tricks like if you hold the brake half way it sets the machine it neutral and you can pull back so you can make perfect stripes with a belt drive, and its light enough so you can pull it back and muscle it around just about anywhere. The thing has tons of power, it being a 36 I dont really see a need for a sulky because Im using it in tighter spots, I use it anywhere I cant fit my Z. Its my first walk behind so im not speaking from much experience, I have been running a my 737 for the last 4 years, so it was a change for me. I bought it to supplement using a 21 so far it has really helped me save time and be more productive.

sunstateturk
09-15-2009, 08:31 PM
thanks for the review man. yah my buddy's dad's been running kohler 13 motors in his toros and never complained about power. i too have to get through gates on 25% of my yards so it'll be a nice step up from my 21.

i found this 2002 for $950 obo. i'll be eyeballing it really close as money is non-existent! lol :)

whole9er
09-16-2009, 12:08 AM
I got mine for 800 bucks but I bought all new belts, filters, plug, grips, blades, the works. I wanted the thing running in perfect working order to start with, It was running and working fine when I got it but now I just am going to use the old stuff as backups. You'll be suprised how much time it saves you, It cuts 10 push mower stripes into 3 or 4, so much quicker. Second gear is just about as fast as my 21, third is a pretty fast walk but you can do it on a more open lawn.

heybruck34
09-16-2009, 10:25 AM