PDA

View Full Version : Quick Q? for Scag owners

UrbanGreen
09-16-2009, 10:11 PM
I have been running exmark navigators for almost 4 years now and will be replacing one of them with a ztr. I am pretty set on a scag wild cat but just had a couple of questions. Since the scag seems to be built like a tank and weighs as much as one, have you guys ever had a problem with it creating ruts or stressing a lawn out? Second question, I have been told to stay away from the liquid cooled engines because the screen gets clogged from debris. Is this true?

Thanks for replies, I hope to be a happy scag owner soon!

johnnybravo8802
09-16-2009, 10:53 PM
I think the wildcat would be a good choice. I don't think there is enough weight difference to matter with rutting. I have a TT and it doesn't rut anymore than any other brand I've owned. In fact, it may be less with the wide tires-the width of the tires makes a big difference also. I try to not mow wet grass and change direction of cut as often as possible. To me, the quality of the machine is well worth a little bit of extra weight. Hope to see you onboard soon. You'll be amazed at the velocity plus deck!!!:clapping::clapping:

johnnybravo8802
09-16-2009, 11:04 PM
I forgot to mention that I have the 29Kawi DFI with liquid cooling and the maintenance couldn't be any easier. I just blow the screen off after mowing-it's that simple. Honestly, the engine sucks the debri to the screen when the engine is running and falls right off when the engine is turned off-you almost don't even have to clean it. When I do clean it, I take a screwdriver, and clean out the valleys that you can't blow out but that is really simple. I had two Exmark's with liquid cooled engines and they stayed clogged up a lot more than my Scag-the screen was even on top of the engine!!I wouldn't think twice about an LC.

The Captain
09-16-2009, 11:58 PM
I have an older Turf Tiger with the 23hp Kawa. water cooled.