PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on what ZTR to buy

Tom W
05-03-2002, 08:56 AM
I'm a home owner that has about 6 acres to mow in North Carolina. The land is rolling and flat with several trees and a house and garden area. I have been using a Toro 48" lawn tractor for the last 5 years, but it is worn out and very slow.Takes about 5 hours to mow.
After doing some research on this web site, I am interested in a Exmark Lazer HP 44" or 48", or Toro has a new ZTR called a Time Cutter for home owners. It is available in 44 and 52 with 17 horsepower. I realize I'm not comparing apples to apples, but the price difference is Toro $4700.00. vs. Lazer HP $6300.00. Is the Exmark overkill for my situation and will there be much difference in a 44" and 48" cut in the amout of time it takes to mow 6 acres. Need some imput from some of the expert help on this website.
Thanks in advance.
Tom W
twrayw@gloryroad.net

farmguy
05-03-2002, 10:10 AM
I'm a homeowner also. Cut about 10 acres a week and just recently bought an Exmark 52" Lazer Z w/20 hp Kohler. This is my first ZTR and I don't regrett it at all. Rugged and well built would be how I would describe this machine. I started researching them about a year before I needed to make a decision on another mower. The only other one I would have considered would have been the Kubota ZD 21 but was a little out of my price range since it is not providing a revenue stream. Hope this helps.

Trent

rick_reno
05-03-2002, 10:33 AM