PDA

View Full Version : What would you guys do??

Stevegotcrabgrass
09-24-2009, 07:46 PM
I hate my job. I am a white collar guy with a great job at a famous firm and hate it. I love to work outside and with my hands. I was an auto mechanic through highschool and college and then went into my chosen (big mistake) profession. Sure I make good money but I never see my wife or kid. I would be happy working from 6 am to 4 or 5 pm 6 days a week.

I want to cut lawns. Am I crazy about even wanting to do this. My pros are that I know a lot of people who would probably hire me. Maybe even 300 plus. I also have experience in irrigation system installation and repairs and have an account at my local sprinkler/lighting supply house. In addition I have a decent number of connections with commercial properties. In my business I have made a lot of connections and that can help. Another pro is I can run a business from tax issues to legal issues as that is what I do everyday so that won't be an issues. I am very aware about overhead, economics, sales etc. Im fairly likeable (even though I sound not modest at all).

My CONS. I have never cut professionally but I do all my own yard work and love every second of it. I would have to start from scratch or maybe buy a business with some accounts and do it part time until I can ensure I can provide for my family.....what would you guys do??? Stay in a job you hate where you feel like you're drowning in your own worthlessness everyday or take a risk and do something you think you would actually enjoy. Sorry this is long. I am just sitting here in my little office at about 8 pm and hate my life. My 3 week old daughter is sitting at home alone with mommy and I won't get there for another 2 hours at the minimum and I will return tomorrow and do the same thing................

Father&Daughter Lawn care
09-24-2009, 08:09 PM
I truly enjoy what i do. I am also able to take my daughter with me during the summer time.

Stevegotcrabgrass