PDA

View Full Version : What to charge for application

Baldwinslawnservice
09-26-2009, 07:52 PM
I am new to the fetilizer and pesticide application aspect of this business and I need a little help on application pricing. I am using Momentum herbicide and lesco fertilizer, so my material cost is about 16.50 per bag of fertilizer and 140.00 for 2.5 gallons of herbicide. Now I just need to know how much to charge for application and mark-up on chemicals. Keep in mind I am located in a rural area in southern ohio, so I can't charge the big city rates. thanks!:usflag:

foreplease
09-26-2009, 10:56 PM
See my lengthy post (#2) here (http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?p=3047661) and post # 14 here (http://www.lawnsite.com/showthread.php?t=269165&page=2) for my thoughts on it. Everyone has a different approach and their own needs.

I hope I did the links right. Good luck to you.

RigglePLC
09-26-2009, 11:05 PM
Take a business course and learn this on your own.However. Most companies charge a base fee to cover their overhead, plus the cost to arrive at the site. Then they add a cost per each thousand sqft to cover cost of the chemicals and cost of the labor time required to apply. Add a few percent profit to each. I have heard TruGreen charges 22 base fee and 6 dollars per thousand sqft.

Baldwinslawnservice
09-26-2009, 11:46 PM
Take a business course and learn this on your own.However. Most companies charge a base fee to cover their overhead, plus the cost to arrive at the site. Then they add a cost per each thousand sqft to cover cost of the chemicals and cost of the labor time required to apply. Add a few percent profit to each. I have heard TruGreen charges 22 base fee and 6 dollars per thousand sqft.