PDA

View Full Version : Am I on the right course?

Jmart90
10-06-2009, 11:58 PM
Hi,

I'm a new member here and hoping to be a long lasting one. I've been here for only a few hours and learned loads of info, can't wait to see what a few years will teach me hah.

My question right now is this:

Currently I'm an art's student, in my second year, when I first began university (I was 16 when I started uni) my parents sort of "pushed" me into it, although I wanted to do landscaping. But now I'm turning 19 in about a month and I'm not happy with Arts, and I've already enrolled into a landscaping program (1 year program at the local community college) and I'm done with arts after this semester (still giving it 110% though, I don't like to do poorly at anything hah)

But yea, I've been doing lawn care work since I was about 9 years old, I got my first couple lawns, now I'm up to 10 a week (I could be doing more, but I have a full time job with a real landscaping company as well, so I can only mow so many lawns in the evenings I have off.)

So My dream has been for years to own and operate my own landscaping company, my plan is as follows:

Take the landscaping program, and brick laying program, and carpentry program.
Become certified in all 3 fields
Continue working with my current company for a few years, so i can learn as much as possible.
Then really take my lawns serious and start my own thing.

So is this a smart plan? is there anything missing?

Also, a note, I understand my final step "start my own thing" is very vague hah, it's somthing I'm working on clarifying every day.

Thanks.

-Jeff

mgt379
10-07-2009, 10:04 AM
Iam in the landscaping program at my college right now, Its kind of a waste of time. I get more experience working of the athletics dept and in fact i am leaving this program at the end of this semister. Just an fyi it is a waste in my opinion you learn so much more from going out and working

MarkintheGarden
10-07-2009, 10:04 AM