PDA

View Full Version : 38 yrs old want to start business??

wteeter
10-07-2009, 03:23 PM
I am 38 years old and have always wanted to start my own business. I grew up on a farm and mowed lawns in HS. I got my degree, coached HS football for 11 years. After that I got into the Oil industry as a directional driller. I've always wanted to start my own business. I have a strong back and am not afraid to sweat and work. My current job pays over 100k. My wife and I want to start the business ourselves and eventually add employees. We just moved to a small town in Texas There is a need here and close surrounding communities for general lawn services. Here are the big questions: Is it too late in life for me? Should I work the rest of my working career for someone else or should I go for it? Can a man make over 100K and eventually just get to a supervision role with employees? What do you thing? Let me know.

mgt379
10-07-2009, 04:08 PM
Anything is possible, Getting that big could take some time though. Why arnt you satisfied with your 100k Job? that sounds like some really good money?

lawnkingforever
10-07-2009, 04:28 PM
I am your age and I have been doing yards part-time for a few years. I was in sales for over 10 years until this past May, as my fulltime gig. My company was cutting back and was offering serverance packages, so I took it. I did not have to take it since I had enough seniority, but I seen it as a chance to grow my lawn business. I don't think I will ever replace the income of my sales job and part-time mowing business combined. But I will make enough mowing next year to almost match my sales job salary. The sales job was very stressful and had very long hours, I was burned out chasing the dollar, my company could of offered me 10 bucks as the going away package and I would of taken it.