PDA

View Full Version : What would be fair price for this biz?

bjm95
10-08-2009, 12:14 PM
I am a newbie considering purchasing a existing landscaping biz.

This business is listed for 85k.

97 residential accounts
Exmark 60' zero turn mower,
32'' Toro with sulky, all the necessary equipment such as pack back blower, weed whackers, edger's etc.
2002 GMC Crew cab & two enclosed trailers, one is 14' the other 16'
It's net is 55k

I am thinking 65-70k. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!

MarkintheGarden
10-08-2009, 01:17 PM
Interesting question, can you give more details;
Estimated value of the truck and equipment.
Gross revenue.
Region and area.
How long has this business been established.
97 accounts, it is real hard to say what this is worth without seeing service and billing records.

bjm95
10-08-2009, 01:21 PM
gross is 158,600
est on value of equip is 25k
expenses is 153k including a 39k owner salary
locate din central Florida
established for 3.5 years
Presently they operate out of a warehouse & have the tools necessary to do maintenance & repair on their equipment

it's though a broker but told it has good books and records and everything is verifiable.

MarkintheGarden
10-08-2009, 01:56 PM
What I would have to look at is what I could do with the business.
Is it what you want and where you want it? Can you manage those accounts, increase the profitability? Do those tools come with the deal? (I assume the wharehouse does not). Do you know what to do with them?

From an entrepreneurial point of view I would consider making an offer of 52.5 K; $25k for the eqpt, and one half last years net for the accounts. The business only made 5K profit last year and the sale price must come out of the profit, so assuming that the profit earning is sustainable it is going to take forever to pay off 85K. Yes, they may well laugh at 52.5 K.