PDA

View Full Version : Disappointed with LEDs

lantanalawns
10-10-2009, 12:37 AM
I have been installing Christmas lights for 4 years now and we are ramping up for a good season. I wanted to differentiate our company from others in the area. So I found that LEDs would be a good way to do that. 90% less energy usage, could run ton's of lights in a row, could plug everything on a single outlet, safer... So many good reasons.

So I purchased a sample from Holiday Light Source in Lubbock. These things cost $17+ per set of 25 lights. I purchased a set of C7 bright white, a set of C7 warm white and 25 each of the bright white retro-fit C7s. Well, I plugged them into my handy little device for measuring how much energy they are using and it was great! There was a 95% decrease in amount of wattage that was being drawn!

I got them during the day and I am currently working evenings until 1 am. So I installed the C7 bright white set of 25 over my garage door. When I came home at about 1:30 am I plugged them in. It was dark outside and I thought they would look great.

Man was I wrong. First the color was almost blue, not bright white. And they not bright at all. They don't seem to be very bright at all. Wierd color.

Did I just buy from the wrong place? They are the full wave (rectified) version from www.litesource.com. If those that use LEDs, where do you buy from and have you had this same experience? Your thoughts?

Carlos
Holiday Light & Decor
www.holidaylight.biz (http://www.holidaylight.biz)

brianpsmith
10-10-2009, 11:18 AM
I did the same thing a few years ago and went through the sticker shock of the price then the disappointment of the color...all by itself the winter or bright white looks spooky if you ask me. Try the warm white. They are designed to closer resemble an incandescent look and they look pretty good unless your neighbor has incandescent then the difference again rears it's ugly head.