PDA

View Full Version : How often, honestly....

mwilson3
10-20-2009, 10:02 PM
Do you clean/hose out your deck? I just got my 1st ZT and the manual says after every use? Toro titan 54. I am a newbie and don't want to mess up my ZT but everyday? I cut 7 lawns a day.
Mike

fastcat
10-20-2009, 10:20 PM
I just scrape it off every time I change the blades out
Posted via Mobile Device

DT Lawn Care
10-20-2009, 10:21 PM
Do you clean/hose out your deck? I just got my 1st ZT and the manual says after every use? Toro titan 54. I am a newbie and don't want to mess up my ZT but everyday? I cut 7 lawns a day.
Mike

Nah, you don't have to by any means, unless you are cutting wet thick grass. We clean our mowers about once every few weeks during normal conditions. In the spring when it's raining, once every other day or so. Just keep your blades sharp and balanced.

Edit: When I sharpen the blades I clean out also, as fastcat said.

B&A lawn care
10-21-2009, 09:41 AM
As the others said, depends on the weather but never after every use. Thick buildup can alter the cutting quality and effects the discharge pattern. The only time we spend lots of effort on deck cleaning is at the end of the season for rust prevention. Back when the mowers were "dad's mowers" and not MY mowers I would pull over a graveled drive set the deck down and let her rip a while,,, the deck vacuam sucking up the pebbles was like red neck sand blasting:hammerhead:, LOL.

South Florida Lawns
10-22-2009, 05:45 PM
Dude it ain't that bad I hit it with the blower at the end of the week, more if its wet grass. I keep the spindle covers off so I can clean out the deck faster.

mwilson3
10-22-2009, 09:08 PM
Thanks guys, like the redneck sandblast deal... trying to stay creative!

Mike

greenred
10-23-2009, 02:40 AM
Thanks guys, like the redneck sandblast deal... trying to stay creative!

Mike