PDA

View Full Version : used john deere

jsaunders
05-09-2002, 09:11 PM
A new customer has a john deere 318 lawn and garden tractor that she wants to get rid of. I was hoping I could get some info from you as to how much it might be worth or how good of a tractor it is. This is what I know- hasn't run/been used in two years-customer said it was running when parked. it has been in a garage for the last two years. it has an Ohnen (sp) engine no idea of hours needs a battery and a front tire. The tractor has hydrolic steering and hydrolic fittings in the front for a snowblower? There is some gas in the tank yet the fuel filter is empty- so I figure the cab/ fuel bowl will need to be cleaned out. Thankyou for the replies.

65hoss
05-11-2002, 10:13 AM
I don't know very much about these little deere's, but I have a subscription to Green Magazine (JD mag). I'll look to see if any are for sale in it. I'll let you know.

stslawncare
05-11-2002, 12:12 PM
do u know of the age or hp?

jsaunders
05-11-2002, 09:48 PM
I don't know of horsepower or age. I looked at it real quick. The customer said she bought it used her self. It does have a 48 inch cutting deck. I will be over there in a couple of days and give it a better look.

jsaunders
05-17-2002, 08:58 PM
here is some more info - tractor pin# m00318x290837
onan engine # B43G-GA018/4174C
the hour meter reads 0 hrs which is 't correct

m318x476070
05-31-2002, 02:05 PM
It is a 1984 model with point ignition (later models have electronic ignition) 18 hp Onan engine. I have a 1988 model that has been a tremendous tractor. Mowing 3-4 acres every summer for the last 5 years. I just rolled 1000 hours on the tach. and it 's still running strong. There is a JD Garden tractor 'community' on MSN where the 318 commands a great deal of love and respect.

Buster57
06-30-2002, 10:28 AM
I have a JD318. I had to change the engine at 1625 hours. Cost $2000. I did not hesitate.