PDA

View Full Version : Lighting up in a tree.

jlouki01
10-22-2009, 08:13 PM
I am new to lighting but have taken quite a liking to it. Using my house as a guinea pig I started here..

I have quite a few very large silver maples on the property and some very nice river birch.

I picked up a book by Janet Lennox on lighting. It opened my eyes to using multiple lights on a single object to highlight all of it's features.

My question is I have a huge birch I put one well light and 2 bullets. Looks very impressive. It doesn't seem to need anything else because of the leaf size.

However the maples with the same lighting are in desperate need of something up in the tree to finish it off. I can post some pics tomorrow of the actual trees. In the meantime does anyone have any examples.. picture or drawn of I could rig this up. ( Fyi I understand how the concept and hookup works ) just looking for an idea of bulb type and fixture type.

jlouki01
10-22-2009, 08:16 PM
Oddly enough I found an old picture ( bad ) of one of the trees in question.

steveparrott
10-23-2009, 03:12 PM
You might this article to be helpful: http://www.cast-lighting.com/learning/articles/3_article_Landscape-Lighting-Imitates-Nature

Pro-Scapes
10-23-2009, 06:36 PM
Steve that is an EXCELLENT article. Very well written thanks for sharing it.

I like how you mentioned for designers to consider where people might be looking when a particular area is in use. I was called out to a job someone else installed. 2 perfect trees for downlighting were near the edge of a patio but there was also a hot tub on the edge of the patio. When someone would recline in the hot tub to relax they were staring into a mercury vapor lamp. Not very relaxing.