PDA

View Full Version : DBA, LLC, or S-Corp

Trevoryard
10-25-2009, 11:40 AM
Hi All. I am a solo operator and sub-contract very little work out. I have 75% residential and 25% commercial accounts and wonder if I need to become an LLC or S-Corp. I am dba now and have excellent insurance protection and just dont see the need to spend money on becoming an llc or s corp. Are there any tax breaks or anything enticing besides the protection of personal assets?

rob7233
10-26-2009, 12:51 AM
As a Sole prop you and the business are the same along with any assests or liabilities. This also goes for liability exposure. As an LLC you are no longer the DBA company but the company becomes a separate entity which may apply for it's own credit etc. Your SS # is no longer the indentifier for the Federal government. The sub S is an additional option as to how you want to disclare taxes and write off. You really don't get the benefits or the added layer of protection from liability as a single member LLC. Do a google search for services to get one set up and some more help.

Uranus
10-26-2009, 01:07 AM
Check out this site http://www.legalzoom.com/

Look around that site, it can answer most of your questions.

mowerbrad
10-26-2009, 04:49 PM
There are plenty of threads around this site that will help you with a few of your questions and at least give you a good idea of what might be best for you.