PDA

View Full Version : What pressure for spraying

Casey
05-11-2002, 08:05 PM
I am new to the spraying business and not sure what types of pressure to use to spray a fertilizer/herbicide mix. The sprayer I purchased is built by turbo technologies has a 5.5hp Honda engine and a Hypro 30 diaphram pump (rated at up to 500psi and 9.5 gal per minute), the gun is a Viton. I want to spray at a rate of 2 gal per minute or per 1000 sq ft, to accomplish this I have to run the system at 100psi. It appears that the other people around here are spraying with about 20 to 30 psi, spray pattern looks coarser like something that would come out of a garden hose end type of sprayer.

MATTHEW
05-11-2002, 09:01 PM
All you need to do is do a "bucket check". If you want to spray at 2GPM, simply get a bucket that has a one gallon marker inside. Get a stopwatch and begin spraying at 00 seconds. Stop spraying at 30 seconds. You should have exactly one gallon inside. If not, adjust the regulator up/down until you get the one gallon level. Make sure your strainer is clean each day as the volume will decrease as gunk builds up. Good luck. (Did you get that licence yet?)

Casey
05-11-2002, 10:14 PM
Yes I got the license, that was the first step I made. I have already performed the bucket check, and to get the volume per minute that I want the pressure has to be around 100psi, at that pressure the spray droplets seem to be extremely small and tend to have more problem with drift than I believe I would with a coarser spray pattern.

dougaustreim
05-12-2002, 08:43 AM
Sounds like you have the wrong type of pump for lawn work. Your pump is probably more appropriate for tree spraying and root feeding. We have a diapraghm pump for our tree sprayer, but the lawn units all use centrifugal pumps.

You could experience serious drift problems at 100 psi, which could lead to significant liablity issues.

I think you should go back to your dealer and rediscuss your needs.