PDA

View Full Version : which herbicide should I be using

cpmnate
10-29-2009, 10:35 PM
This is my first year doing weed control I have a permagreen spreader and have only used lesco three way herbicide with ok results is there something better?

CHARLES CUE
10-29-2009, 10:45 PM
what rate are you using, ask your lesco dealer about a spreader sticker have you calibrated the sprayer. i use a 3 way and have great results what kind of weeds are you having problems with. some weeds hang on for week before they die some dont die easy may take several treatments
Charles Cue

whoopassonthebluegrass
10-29-2009, 10:55 PM
All depends on what you're trying to kill. For the simple weeds, Lesco's Three-Way was terrific (I haven't used it for a couple years, so I can't vouch for whether or not the formula's still the same).

Tougher weeds require tougher herbicides...

cpmnate
10-29-2009, 11:02 PM
I am follwing recommendations on the bottle should I be spraying more than once per year

whoopassonthebluegrass
10-29-2009, 11:14 PM
I am follwing recommendations on the bottle should I be spraying more than once per year

Wisconsin may have it's own rules, but EPA regulations only allow for 2 full, blanket applications of an herbicide containing 2,4-D.

That being said, you can SPOT SPRAY much more liberally.

And you SHOULD. Spraying weeds once a year isn't going to keep a lawn clean.

grassman177
10-29-2009, 11:37 PM
but if you put a bunch of horse crap on it it wil be so lush a weed could never even exist, >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> well sort of, the object in any turf program is to get the grass thick, the thicker it is the less weeds will ever have achance.

RigglePLC
10-29-2009, 11:48 PM
Spray early summer and fall. I use Lesco Eliminate herbicide. Fine with surfactant in skid sprayer in big tank, however with Permagreen I cannot use surfactant as it causes too much foam.

Grandview
10-30-2009, 08:51 AM