PDA

View Full Version : Exmark Turf Tracer engine cutting out!

4curbappeal
10-29-2009, 10:40 PM
I have a 52" Exmark TT wit a 23 hp Kaw engine. The engine only has about 200 hrs on it, but the mower prob has close to 1000.

Today while cutting I noticed that the engine would cut off for a couple of seconds usually while turning or backing up at the end of each pass. I have only had the mower for a couple of weeks and have noticed once or twice before today. It would also do this occasionally when backing up by squeezing the ECS controls.
I am by no means a mechanic, nor do I claim to be, but it seemed fuel starved or maybe even a bad wire or safety switch. I really have no clue! I will replace the fuel filter tomorrow and see if this helps, but wondered if anyone could help diagnose the problem.

Thank you again to everyone in this forum for your help. Having a bunch of mechanical issues with 3 of my mowers this year and would probably go crazy and broke if it weren't for this site!

Thanks again,
Tim

sjessen
10-29-2009, 10:44 PM
It could be the safety switch associated with the operator presence control.

mowerknower
10-29-2009, 11:00 PM
Id be looking at opc switch or the brake switch. you can bypass the brake switch and it will not affect the safe operation of the mower (its just there to make sure you dont drive with the brake on) If bypassing that doesnt help then try replacing the opc switch.

Restrorob
10-29-2009, 11:07 PM
If it hasn't already been done, Un-plug the seat safety switch and put a jumper wire across the plug connector contacts then test run the unit.

If it no longer acts up replace the seat switch, Do NOT leave it jumped for your's and other's safety.