PDA

View Full Version : New Owner Experience - Exmark Lazer Z AS 52" / 28HP

lotsagrass
11-06-2009, 09:39 PM
Ok it's me again. The dealer dropped off my new baby today. In case you haven't seen my other postings, here's the quick details on what I bought.

2008 eXmark Lazer Z Advantage Series with 52" UltraCut deck and 28HP Kawasaki engine. It was a leftover, never used.

I'll post some pictures tomorrow if I have the chance to get it outside for better photos. For now, here are my first impressions if you're interested. Keep in mind, I'm not a professional lawn care guy. This is for home use and it's the first zero turn I've ever used...so keep that in mind ;)

First, I've seen various postings about bigger this, bigger that on the non-AS series Lazer Z's and for that matter, other brands. For example, the slightly bigger brother to my model has 16cc hydro pumps once you get to a certain engine size. I can't imagine needing any more power from the pumps or from the engine on this baby. It's strong! It'll pretty much pull a wheelie with the ag tires I have on the rear!...and it certainly will on hills, but of course you don't want to be doing that.

Now I'll list off various things me as a newcomer to a machine like this has on my mind after about 1.5 hours of use.

- Power! It's fast and pulls hills without slowing down. Puts my old rider to absolute shame! It spanks that Cub Cadet SLT 1550 rider's rear end!
- The Kawasaki 28HP engine is nice and quiet and like I said, has plenty of power.
- Hydro pumps and wheel motors are very quiet. I can barely hear them. I've seen various videos on youtube of some guy selling Lazer Z's (older units) and the hydro noise was loud and disturbing. I can barely here mine! :)