PDA

View Full Version : Recommend a good book about lawns

aira$$ault
11-08-2009, 10:48 AM
Hi all,
I'm planning to start a lawn care business in the spring, as I've said in many other posts. After lurking on the forum for a while, I've learned a whole lot about the business. However, I feel like I'm lacking in the horticulture department. I'm a professional engineer, so it's not in my background.
It seems like I need a knowledge base in order to understand most of the discussion in this forum, in regards to the technical aspects of building and maintaining a healthy lawn. Seems to me a good start would be a book. Can anyone recommend a book that would fill me in on how to build and maintain a healthy lawn ? I need to know about soil, chemicals, fertilizer, aerating, watering, weeds, etc.

rustystarretts
11-08-2009, 04:24 PM
The Organic Lawn Care Manual (Paperback)
~ Paul Tukey (Author) .... easily $14.00 well spent!:usflag:

Keegan
11-08-2009, 06:36 PM
Paul Sachs has authored some good books as well

RigglePLC
11-08-2009, 07:49 PM
Lawn Geek by Trey Rogers, published about 2006.
All about Lawns, by Ortho
Turfgrass, Science and Culture by James Beard, a textbook, big bucks; its the best. 672 pages.

BIOGRASS
11-10-2009, 08:01 PM
I personally think Christians is a good read check out Fundamentals of Turfgrass Management

grassman177
11-10-2009, 10:07 PM
i had the one by Beard as a text book in college , good book but was outdated a bit then, hopfully it has been updated.

BIOGRASS
11-10-2009, 10:13 PM
I think it is still outdated... Not aware of any updates, I would love to read a newer version.

HawkinsBros
11-21-2009, 09:06 PM
You're not a professional engineer.

Smallaxe
11-23-2009, 06:13 AM
You're not a professional engineer.

Not only that... there's no horticulture in NM.

aira$$ault
11-23-2009, 12:46 PM
Not only that... there's no horticulture in NM.

What does that mean ?