PDA

View Full Version : in need of some help

benedict
11-10-2009, 03:31 PM
i am new to doing this myself. what is a good going rate per hour:confused:? and anyone have a sample bid sheet they can send me?

atouchofnature
11-10-2009, 08:24 PM
I'm not trying to nitpick, but your question is too vague. You are asking for a good going rate per hour, but not specifying what type of work you are doing. My income per hour varies greatly from one job to the next.

Now for a very, very long & detailed general response ........

Very important: Do not go out and bid jobs using my exact numbers. These numbers I am about to give you are from a contract written 10 years ago. Also, your insurance rates, equipment price, employee wages etc will all be different from mine. Also, your goals are not going to be the same as mine in regard to profit. What you are about to read will not tell you how much to charge, but instead give you an example of a way that you can come up with a price after you take out my numbers and replace them with your own.

Several years ago, I had a contract where everything was billed by time and material. Few contracts are on this kind of basis, but at least this will answer the question about my income goals. I don't remember the exact rates, but the approximate contracted rates were:

Labor Rates
Myself $30 per hour
An experienced worker other than myself $21 per hour
A worker with less than 2 years experience $15 per hour

Equipment Rates
These rates are over and above the labor rates. The labor is paying for my employee, office, liability insurance etc. The equipment rates are paying for equipment insurance, fuel, maintenance etc.
1/2 or 3/4 ton pickup truck $10 per hour, even if it was sitting still, the truck was still tied up even if not being used at the moment.
1 ton pickup $15 per hour
skid steer, or other large equipment $40 per hour
mowers .20 per hour per cutting inch, so a 60" mower would get $12 per hour and a 36" mower gets 7.20 per hour