PDA

View Full Version : 15 years now....wow has it been that long

pararest
11-17-2009, 09:42 PM
I started my business right after High School. I was 19 years old and had no money and little knowledge of the industry. I borrowed 600.00 dollars to buy my first beat up truck and got the ugliest trailer on earth for free. The first year I picked up around 20 accounts. The next couple of years I steadily grew until I had about 100 accounts. After about 7 years as an owner operator I realized it was time to build a real business. I began reading business books, marketing books and got my Landscape and Irrigation License. I then starting with the many headaches of employees as my business quickly grew. My one truck became 4 trucks with all the equipment and trailers .....etc. The next year I added 3 more trucks, with all the equipment.....(lots of money :hammerhead:) I currently have 15 trucks and 32 employees. I really enjoy the business, and sales side of my work. I have not worked in the field now since 2003..... and I don't miss it at all.

Micah Owner
Paradise Restored Landscaping
http://www.paradiserestored.com

jeffslawnservice
11-17-2009, 11:10 PM
Congrates on your success. Any tips or advice for some one around the age you started? (I'm 17 now.)

pararest
11-18-2009, 01:48 AM
Yes! Set goals now.....! What things do you want from your business? Do you want to do the work yourself long term? Do you want to do Lawn Maintenance? Landscaping? Irrigation? Waterfeatures? The biggest thing I would have changed is not wasting my time for so long. I was making o.k. money those early years but was very unorganized. The moment I started setting goals and had direction the business was in hyper speed from that time on. So again.......... SET GOALS.... Set a date of completion of those goals....... then work hard to accomplish those goals. It will all fall into place from there. Even in this weird economy :)

Micah Owner

SchnabelLawnCare
11-18-2009, 08:02 PM