PDA

View Full Version : BR600 vs. BR600 Magnum...what is the difference/improvement???


Blazerfb
11-26-2009, 07:10 PM
I own two BR600's and they are my favorite blowers I've ever used by far. We just got in three 600 Magnum's at my municipal job, noticed the different tube but no difference in performance....so what are the differences on the inside? Anything that makes them more fuel efficient or longer lasting? I heard they have two fuel intakes from someone, haven't checked ours at work yet to see? Anyone with some good knowledge on them I'd love to know more!!!

LilRabbit
11-26-2009, 07:54 PM
dealer said??? improved valves, obviosly the tube is shaped differant not sure but of coarse he said lots of improvements.same price as br600 $499

Jason Rose
11-26-2009, 07:55 PM
I'd be curious too. My BR600 has been great, but the fuel "running out" with half a tank or so left is always a PITA. Of course I want MORE POWER, but who dosn't?

ALC-GregH
11-26-2009, 08:27 PM
I'd be curious too. My BR600 has been great, but the fuel "running out" with half a tank or so left is always a PITA. Of course I want MORE POWER, but who doesn't?
That can be fixed in minutes. Add some weight to the fuel filter on the end of the pick up line in the tank. I did it and now I can burn pretty much a whole tank wide open non stop.

STIHL GUY
11-26-2009, 11:18 PM
That can be fixed in minutes. Add some weight to the fuel filter on the end of the pick up line in the tank. I did it and now I can burn pretty much a whole tank wide open non stop.

my blower will run a full tank without stopping

Alan0354
11-27-2009, 03:20 AM
I'd be curious too. My BR600 has been great, but the fuel "running out" with half a tank or so left is always a PITA. Of course I want MORE POWER, but who dosn't?

I have problem with my Shindaiwa M242. I finally found a very easy way to fix that. I remove the gas filter, slip the tube through 3 of the 1/4" nut and put the filter back on. At least with the tube in the Shindy, it fit snug tight and stay put, I push the nut close to the filter end, it work, never have problem running out of gas half way anymore.

Jason Rose
11-27-2009, 09:17 AM
And just HOW do you fish the filter out of the tank on a BR600? I used my usual wire hook, reached in and hooked it, drug it towards the opening, to find that the hose is too short to let it even get within an inch of the opening. Upon inspection I discovered that I would have to take the hose off the carb, and pull it completely OUT of the tank, thru the grommet, in order to have enough to work with to even change the filter. Then, to get the hose back thru the tank grommet I'd have to remove the tank from the machine, but then I'd have to take the filter back off... So in other words, I need a new, much longer fuel line, just to change the filter and add a weight to it. That will give me something to do when it's cold outside.

BOSCHERT LAWN CARE
11-27-2009, 02:21 PM
.so what are the differences on the inside? Anything that makes them more fuel efficient or longer lasting? I heard they have two fuel intakes from someone, haven't checked ours at work yet to see? Anyone with some good knowledge on them I'd love to know more!!!

they have 2 fuel pick ups instead of 1, slightly different straps with logo/back pad, new harder valves and easier to adjust tube with tapered tip

Alan0354
11-27-2009, 03:18 PM
And just HOW do you fish the filter out of the tank on a BR600? I used my usual wire hook, reached in and hooked it, drug it towards the opening, to find that the hose is too short to let it even get within an inch of the opening. Upon inspection I discovered that I would have to take the hose off the carb, and pull it completely OUT of the tank, thru the grommet, in order to have enough to work with to even change the filter. Then, to get the hose back thru the tank grommet I'd have to remove the tank from the machine, but then I'd have to take the filter back off... So in other words, I need a new, much longer fuel line, just to change the filter and add a weight to it. That will give me something to do when it's cold outside.

Is it still under warranty? This is defect to me!!! How can you even change the filter? Seems like the warranty should cover this manufacturing defect. Let them fix that, it might just solve your problem without weights.

mowerknower
11-27-2009, 06:53 PM
And just HOW do you fish the filter out of the tank on a BR600? I used my usual wire hook, reached in and hooked it, drug it towards the opening, to find that the hose is too short to let it even get within an inch of the opening. Upon inspection I discovered that I would have to take the hose off the carb, and pull it completely OUT of the tank, thru the grommet, in order to have enough to work with to even change the filter. Then, to get the hose back thru the tank grommet I'd have to remove the tank from the machine, but then I'd have to take the filter back off... So in other words, I need a new, much longer fuel line, just to change the filter and add a weight to it. That will give me something to do when it's cold outside.

Although the fuel filter is a little tougher to change, what you said is completly wrong. The fuel line does not go through the grommet on the tank, there is nipples on both sides of the grommet.
All you have to do is take the tank off (2 screws) pop out the grommet and replace the filter.

Richard Martin
11-27-2009, 07:28 PM
The Stihl fuel filter assembly also has a replaceable element in it. Part number 0000 350 3502. Most people just replace the whole assembly though.

Blazerfb
11-27-2009, 10:29 PM
they have 2 fuel pick ups instead of 1, slightly different straps with logo/back pad, new harder valves and easier to adjust tube with tapered tip

Thanks Boschert, response i was waiting for. I'm def. going to buy one for my third blower. My reg. 600's are working great tho, single fuel pickup seems to be fine as long as it is in the right place. I can see how two would be nice. I noticed that the straps are alot nicer on the Magnum when i used it.

Not convinced that the new tube is better tho, i think the old one might work better all-around. Only time will tell I guess.

johnnyusa
11-27-2009, 10:37 PM
Anyone using the echo 755? How do you like it? My dealer sells the echo and stihl backpacks and he prefers he echo.

Bluffman
11-29-2009, 09:26 AM
The dealer can get you the dual filter setup for your 600s. I got a new magnum and it didn't have it and I bugged the dealer until he got me the new setup. It's just a 2 barbed filter with an additional 5 inch fuel line on one of the barbs. Fish out the old line, remove the original filter, put the original fuel line on the 2nd barb of the new filter and replace the original filter on the new 5 inch line and tuck it all back into the tank so that you've got a filter on each side of the tank. Takes a few minutes and you're done. Be persistent at your dealer and they should be able to help you out. This will work on any older 600s, 550s or 500s.