PDA

View Full Version : How to pay your employees

Green Industry Pro
11-29-2009, 11:14 PM
Hey guys,
I need help figuring out how to pay the workers on my landscape maintenance crew.I havnt hired anyone yet(thankfully) but Im considering sometime in the future and I want to have everything in order.Once again Im new to the commercial business and Im young(trying to start my carreer in L&L rather than work at a fast food joint).I maintain several small to medium size residential properties with the help of my brother and sometimes my dad.I live in East Texas so I know the methods might be different in your part of the country,but Im sure that they can apply to me aswell.

THANKS POROWSKI LAWN AND LANDSCAPE

:usflag::usflag::usflag: GOD BLESS AMERICA

JB1
11-29-2009, 11:30 PM
we use checks at the end of the week.

Green Industry Pro
11-29-2009, 11:34 PM
OK, but how do you determine how much to pay them on their check.Do you decide based on a percentage of the amount you charge per property, an hourly salary,or what.

THANKS

POROWSKI LAWN AND LANDSCAPE :usflag::usflag::usflag:

RollingZimmer
11-29-2009, 11:46 PM
tons of ways to look at this.

experience, insurance costs for them, how productive they are etc.

my friend gets 9.50 an hour under the table. id give him more but i cant technically write it off.

but pay them by the hour, that way they make money but youll still make yours.

bohiaa
11-30-2009, 12:47 AM
you need to re phrase your Q.

as you know "or should" you can pay out 600.00 PER YEAR. with out paying taxes.
in TEXAS you can have 5 employees with out having workers comp.
be carefull on that one. some comerical accounts will demand it.
http://www.window.state.tx.us/procurement/prog/
check out this web site, it will help you a lot.

Best of luck

DLAWNS
11-30-2009, 02:06 AM