PDA

View Full Version : tax questions and write offs

Mikol87
12-01-2009, 09:17 PM
This is my first year operating a lawn care business. I will be enjoying my first income tax deduction as well. I will probably gross only about $15,000 this year. (good thing I have another full-ime job) So my question is-Any helpful advice, tips, do's/don't to watch out for? I am trying to compile all my deductions so if I missed any, which im sure i did, please fill me in. THANKS!

gas
oil
reapairs
equipment purchases
mileage
advertising
cell phone
internet
laptop
parts
weed eater string

topsites
12-01-2009, 09:23 PM
Although this should probably go under Business Management (http://www.lawnsite.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20), but you'll want to speak to an accountant / cpa about it,
and I'm not trying to down talk any tax experts here, but if you go wrong they will hound you to the edge
and beyond, so I highly recommend start working towards retaining a cpa's services.

Richard Martin
12-02-2009, 03:46 AM
You need to be careful with the cell phone, internet and laptop deductions. Those are grey areas and the amount you can deduct is dependant on how much those items are actually used for business. Surfing Lawnsite is not considered a business use. Like topsite said, consult a legitimate CPA that is looking out for your best interests. You want to minimize your tax liability while also minimizing the chances that you'll be audited.

unkownfl
12-02-2009, 08:28 AM
It depends on the type of business you have.

ALC-GregH
12-02-2009, 08:32 AM
There's a happy balance in there somewhere. :)

chuckcintron
12-02-2009, 08:34 AM