PDA

View Full Version : How do I start bidding comercial properties?

GREGLAND
12-12-2009, 08:14 PM
I have been cutting residencial lawns for 5 years now and i have a great crew but I want to start getting commercial work to give the guys more work and money. The thing is i"m not sure how to get my foot in the door to bid on jobs. Id like to get mini malls or resturants or small office buildings. any advice would help. Thanks

topsites
12-12-2009, 08:32 PM
Being that you say you've been working the business for 5 years that was
what I was told, and believe you me I saw the reason why, you might be glad, too.

You really do need the experience, at least it felt that way for me, 5 years is a good time but
in hindsight I wouldn't have wanted it a day sooner, more is better but I felt that 5 years is good.

Anyhow...
Way I went about it is just mention it to the regulars in way of conversation,
sooner or later one of them residential customers will know someone, word
gets around and you can bid your first one.

Start slow :p
Won't take long, just make mention of it, year after next by the latest you'll most likely bid one, maybe sooner.

Then I'd be for taking on one 'smaller' contract for starters, that's what I did,
yet another one of those things I was later really glad about.
Two might be all right too but don't go overboard, way I did it is I made SURE that if
the contract fell through that it wouldn't spell the end of me.
One small commercial account is what I bid, it will fool you, it did me, I didn't think it was that much work but it was a load...

So, take your time, start small...
Good luck

GREGLAND
01-13-2010, 08:37 PM
Thank you!

hornett22
01-13-2010, 10:48 PM
mowing them is the same with trees.you better be able to do it for nothing and wait forever for your money.

MikeKle
01-13-2010, 11:56 PM
mowing them is the same with trees.you better be able to do it for nothing and wait forever for your money.

How true this is!