PDA

View Full Version : F800 single axle dump

fishman002
12-28-2009, 12:08 AM
I looked a a 1991 F800 single axle with an inline 6 cyl diesel, 5+2 transmission, 10 foot x 36" bed, plus 10 foot meyer 4 way snow blade today. The truck seems to be in good condition. Owner wants 9K for it with 121,000 miles and 50,000 on the rebuilt motor. Is this a good price? Also, I am new to dirt and rock hauling. In the past I have just purchased top soil and had it delivered to the job site but I think there is money to be made hauling my own and hauling for other customers. What are the rates you all charge for delivery + materials and is there money in dump trucking during this economy?

Gravel Rat
12-28-2009, 12:53 AM
Some problems with it for one I don't think you will want 5+2 gearing you may end up with some expensive repairs :laugh:

If the truck is on hydraulic brakes I wouldn't bother Ford used a system called Lucas Girling braking system again more expensive repairs. Truck has to be on air brakes.

You have to check for cab rust if its been used around road salt the cab may have lots of rust.

What does the truck have for a engine if its the 5.9 Cummins I can see why it has a rebuilt engine already. I can't remember what year Ford changed from the 6.6 and 7.8 Brazillian engines to the 5.9 and 8.3 Cummins engines. The 8.2 fuel pincher was also used but I think that truck might be too new.

RockSet N' Grade
12-28-2009, 06:23 AM
fish........I have found that a single axle does not carry enough material to make any money hauling for customers. With a tandem, you have a chance to compete, but not a single.

Mowingman
12-28-2009, 10:05 AM
That appears to be an old state highway dept. truck. I bet it has seen a lot of salt in it's former life. Better check really close for corrosion damage to the frame and sheet metal.