PDA

View Full Version : Tips for rock walls

S&S Outdoor Services
12-28-2009, 04:27 AM
I know retaining walls and paver patios but I have no experience with rock walls. Any tips, required equipment, direction etc. would be helpful. Also a ball park price of costs compared to SRW. Thanks in advance for the help

2low4NH
12-28-2009, 09:52 AM
dont do it! thats the best advice. i also see that you have been asking alot of wuestions about pricing on the site. Good luck with that. As far as equipment goes
Mixer-$1200
hammers,Chisels(carbide)-$1500
compactor-$4000
skidsteer-$5000-45000
excavation contractor-$45-200/hour
1 ton truck (dump) $4500-65000
hand tools trowels shovels picks jointers-4000
thats a rough strat up cost for doing both dry laid or wet walls. it will take about 5 years of building walls before you make any profit on your equipment unless you do alot of walls.
Just an FYI im the 4th generation of a family Masonry comapny we specialize in stone. I could tell you how much we charge per sqft but you will never get anywhere near that price until you have atleast 5 years under your belt.
Stone work is a special animal. you can build what looks like a nice wall and have it fall apart in a week or you can have skills and build a beautiful wall that will last a lifetime.

S&S Outdoor Services
12-28-2009, 05:10 PM
I was actually talking more about Boulder Walls or whatever you want to call them. Not the concrete walls you're talking about. And I've been in the business for a couple years so we have a good amount of that equipment already. Thanks for the reply

2low4NH
12-28-2009, 05:40 PM