PDA

View Full Version : Ponds

jeffclc
03-28-2000, 05:25 AM
Here is my situation. I am mainly a maintenance contractor. I will do an occasional new install for an existing customer/referral, but stick to turf, mulch, trimming... <p>I was at a party over the winter at a friends house. I didn't know many there, but heard a conversation across the room about landscaping. Apparantly, some folks there were discussing their dissatisfaction with a local landscaping company that had done some work for them this past summer. This is one of our areas largest landscaping companies. I have heard many similar stories about them. I was staying out of the conversation, and no one in the room knew that I was in the trade. I was just sitting back, enjoying hearing them bash my competition. At mid conversation, the host of the party walked past, and heard landscaping being discussed, and pointed to me, and said&quot; he's the one you want to talk to about landscaping&quot;. Well, I really wanted to hear un-biased comments about my competitor. Now the stories really started to fly. I heard many disturbing stories about my competitors and their experiences with these folks. I passed out one business card to a guy that asked for it. I didn't want to come off as a slesman. <p>I got a call from the guy a few weeks ago, and quoted him on a few projects around his house. We mulched there last week, and have scheduled a lawn renovation for later this month. <p>So what does this have to do with ponds???<p>The day we went over to mulch, we were given instructions by the mans daughter not to mulch one area, as they were planning some changes to the area. No big deal, maybe about 1 yard. <p>I called the guy that evening after we had finished the mulch work, to follow up with him. He had told me that he was putting a pond in, and that I could do it. I flat out told him that I have never done anything like this beofre, and didn't know much about them either. He didn't seem too worried. <p>I stopp