PDA

View Full Version : What makes someone buy outdoor lighting?

Braphael
01-04-2010, 06:19 PM
In looking ahead to 2010, Iím trying to figure out what makes someone decide to buy a lighting system and increase my sales efforts on those areas. Iím trying to determine which professional relationships to concentrate on first. I am relatively new to this business and would love to hear what your experiences are. I have come up with some questions to consider. Here goes:

What is the triggering event that causes the sale?
Was it the purchase of a new home?
How long have they lived in the home?
Was it a redesign of the landscape?
Was it an addition to the house?
Was it replacing an existing system (big box or solar)?
Was it a pool installation?

Thanks in advance for your comments,

Alan B
01-04-2010, 09:06 PM
Of course there are lots of reasons, and all of your scenarios are likely triggers, however from my experience the biggest triggers lately have been:
-replacing/upgrading existing system
-redesign of landscape
-purchasing of a (new to them) home

Let There Be Light
01-04-2010, 10:31 PM
In my area, people unable to sell the homes they're in, so lot's of upgrading both in and out of home. Clients are saying they're staying put so why not enjoy what they have...

INTEGRA Bespoke Lighting
01-05-2010, 06:49 AM
The three main triggers in my market are:

1 - Beautification; improving on the look of the property. Focused squarely on the client's perspective and not creating show pieces for the community at large.

2 - Safety; Improving the safety of owners and guests while traversing a property. We have large to huge size lots here with tons of elevation changes, rock outcroppings and difficult terrain. Safety, especially for house guests is a strong motivator for outdoor lighting.