PDA

View Full Version : Enclosed trailer V-nose vs Flat nose

Moto52
01-08-2010, 10:25 AM
I want to know if there is a big difference in fuel mileage pulling a v-nose over a normal flat nosed trailer. I heard the other day someone tell me there is a 20 to 30% increase in fuel using a v-nose. I've been using a 6x12 flat nose for the last 8 years and am going to buy a 8x20 and just want to know if i should spend the extra money and get the v-nose or the flat nose????

DUSTYCEDAR
01-08-2010, 10:27 AM
The v is nice for extra space
i dont track the gas i use pulling it as i have nothing to compair to

Moto52
01-08-2010, 10:34 AM
Yea I heard the 20 to 30% increase from the trailer shop I was at so i'm sure he wants to talk his trailers up. 20% is huge to me so if it was true i would buy it in a second but I just don[t think it would make that much of a difference.

AtoZ
01-08-2010, 10:52 AM
Pulling a enclosed trailer is like pulling a parachute with yur truck. You will realize poor fuel economy with both styles with a conventional pickup...

Moto52
01-08-2010, 11:04 AM
Pulling a enclosed trailer is like pulling a parachute with yur truck. You will realize poor fuel economy with both styles with a conventional pickup...

I know that pulling either trailer will make a difference in my mileage I just want to know if it's worth the extra money to buy a v-nose it's about 1000 bucks more. so if it's going to take 5 years to make up the difference in savings it's not worth it but if it is 20% better then I will buy the v-nose forsure..

Valk
01-08-2010, 12:20 PM
Lets say you drive ~25k/yr...and gas is $3/gal. The difference b/tw 10 and 11 mpg's is ~$680/yr in savings.

AtoZ
01-08-2010, 03:26 PM
If you need extra room get the V - If you dont get the flat Nose. There is no 20% standard, if anybody says that the V-nose gets significantly better mileage their lying... My v-nose pulls with the same efficiency as any other trailer out there...

DoetschOutdoor
01-08-2010, 04:14 PM