PDA

View Full Version : how to sell/ split a business

bigmower5560
01-12-2010, 09:39 AM
well i have been doing this for 5 years now, started out as part time with my business partner and for the last 2 years have done it full time. And you know what they say about partnerships... the rate of splitting up is worse then the divorce rate! The reason why i want to get out is not because i can't stand the guy, but just cause he is lazy and doesn't do as much as he should. I'm the guy that finds the work, does over 50% of the work, and does all the office work and it's just not working this way...
Any ways i'm looking at getting another part-time/hopefully full time job. I don't want to get out of lawn care incase this job doesn't work out so i want to keep a days worth of work for my self to pay the bills.
So my questions for those of you who have sold or split a business...
How do you value your business? I find it hard to value a particular account and nothing is guaranteed for the coming year at this point.
I've heard of doing your gross profit for three years... but in the lawn industry that seems impossible.
The other problem is that there is little chance of him getting any money to pay me for my share and i think he will run the biz in the ground so i need what im going to get right away.
For those who have split up, how did you do that? I don't want all the equipment... just enough for me to keep going on by myself... I was thinking a mower, dump trailer, and your new holland tractor so i can dabble in a little of everything. Any input would be great!!!
Thanks!

ALC-GregH
01-12-2010, 10:15 AM
Two words, "good luck"....

bigmower5560
01-12-2010, 01:13 PM

thanks, but could use a little more help than that.

sehitchman
01-12-2010, 01:21 PM
Does your partner want to stay in the business or get out. I would offer him 1/2 of the value of equipment and leave it at that. If he wants more, do the following.