PDA

View Full Version : Raped by Dealer...???

4 seasons lawn&land
01-12-2010, 03:01 PM
Hey, just wondering what you guys think about a bill Im getting from the dealer.

I just talked to the guy on the phone and he said a guy was "on it all morning" and figured out the problem which was an electrical drain from the brake box that I installed so no warranty involved I assume since he told me the price. He said they figured out what was wrong, replaced one froze up battery, and installed the brake box correctly for $575. So I know the batteries are expensive but I thought when they hooked the truck up to the computer it would point thwem straight to the problem with the brake box and the "all morning" thing shouldn't happen.

Im no mechanic so I didn't bother the guy but thought it sounded high so I thought I'd ask here first.

Let me know what you think.

Evan528
01-12-2010, 03:16 PM
I think the "computer" only points them to in the direction of the problem if a check engine light has been triggerd.

unkownfl
01-12-2010, 03:23 PM
Its fair its after market equipment that caused the issue. You have to pay by the hour. It shouldn't have taken him that long, but I don't know how far your truck is modified either. He/She is not familiar with the equipment or how it works adds time.

4 seasons lawn&land
01-12-2010, 03:33 PM
I have upgraded to tow mirrors and the brake box, thats the extent of modifications.

Lawn Man Dave
01-12-2010, 04:58 PM
If you told them you installed a brake box then any half descent tech should have checked that first.

$575 is not that bad, if you told them you installed that box then you may be able to get them to come down on the price some, Id even ask why they did not check the box first if they knew that.