PDA

View Full Version : Geothermal

tthomass
01-13-2010, 05:51 PM
Anybody installed a geothermal system for a home? I've been reading up on them a bit and thinking of doing one at my house.

Any info/details?

GreenLightLawnCareInc
01-13-2010, 06:05 PM
Anybody installed a geothermal system for a home? I've been reading up on them a bit and thinking of doing one at my house.

Any info/details?

My wife and I just built a new house and installed a geo-thermal system. We love it. Our house is 2,400sq ft and our power bill was about 120 through out the summer. We are all electric so that includes lights ect. This is our first winter with it but so far we love it! Plus you can get a nice tax rebate up to 30% I think.

ConstSvcs
01-13-2010, 06:20 PM

Any info/details?

I'm a home builder in CT. ALL of our projects in the past three years have been built using geothermal systems. Deep well systems. More info to follow when I return from dinner. There is much more to it than a simple installation.

tthomass
01-13-2010, 06:29 PM
Yes, please share. I can handle the digging and piping but need to read up on the actual system more and HVAC.

AWJ Services
01-13-2010, 07:13 PM

Any info/details?

I looked long and hard into it and it has it's share of negatives.
It is impossible to get an accurate comparison of actual operating costs between a conventional and Geothermal. The latest conventional systems are very efficient and it could possibly take 15 to 20 years to recoup the additional costs not including added maint coasts associated with Geothermal.
The one advantage Geo thermal has over conventional is it's ability to generate heat in sub 35 degree weather where heat pumps will not.
Expect to pay close to 15k for materials for a 4 ton system and more if you have to dig a well. You can buy cheaper Geo setups but if you get the highest efficiency systems they are expensive.