PDA

View Full Version : adding employees to your billing rate...

grassmasterswilson
01-13-2010, 06:01 PM
I am currently a solo operator and hire a part time worker during the summer for a coupld of weeks. Over the last couple of years I have averaged around $45/hour billing rate (cosidering everything I billed out).

What increase do you guys add to the billing rate per employee? If I pay a guy $10/hr I wouldn't add 10 to the billing rate. We will be able to get more done per hour. I may have to figure it out once I hire someone, but was just curious from anyone who have taken the next step.

sehitchman
01-13-2010, 06:42 PM
Your rate to the customer should stay the same with a little for inflation this year. Unless you are actually charging them by the hour, then it should be nearly double the $45 per hour you currently charge. You should be 60-80% more efficient with good help, so your account billing should be that much more to cover the labor costs. So with both of you on the job 60% of your $45 would mean you should bill at least $27 per hour for the assistant. That is way low, but should give you a start. For some reason, you can never hire anyone and get the same production as yourself. If you find that you are doing more jobs but after paying the employee you don't have anymore income. Then you are not really increasing productivity or profit. Keep in mind, with increased operation time, the equipment will wear out twice as fast also.

meicher806
01-13-2010, 07:26 PM
what do you charge for yourself? thats your hourly rate now double it. that's your new hourly rate. now bill accordingly.

Richard Martin
01-13-2010, 07:50 PM
For some reason, you can never hire anyone and get the same production as yourself.