PDA

View Full Version : Capacity of a two man operation?

cold_and_tired
01-14-2010, 06:11 PM
I did a search and didnt come up with much. Mainly because I am very new to the lawn care business and dont know what to type in the box.

I have been in the landscaping, fence building and snow removal business for about 5 years now and I am thinking about moving into the lawn care business in order for me to keep my brother-in-law on full time.

I want to stay with residentials for now and MAYBE offer lawn care services to a few of my commercial snow accounts.

Initially, I plan on purchasing two walk behind commercial grade mowers. I already own two blowers, two weed eaters, and a small trailer.

Starting out, it will just be my BIL and myself. Lawn sizes in my target service area range between 900 and 1800 sf roughly. I figure that the two of us could handle 15-20 accounts per day (mow, trim, blow) without being too overwhelmed.

What do you guys think? Too many? Too few?

I will be lurking around here trying to pick up on some of the basics. If this place is anything like plowsite, I shouldnt have any problems getting the info that I need.

Thanks

P.S. My sig will be coming soon!

anotherturfgeek
01-14-2010, 06:50 PM
15-20 a day seems a bit high for 2 men new to lawn care. If these were really close together, Maybe. You have to take into consideration several things: rain, fences, other obstacles. It can be done with alot of hustle if your good and pay close attn to details.
The 1000-1800 sq.ft lawns are postage stamps that are not very profitable mostly.

Good Luck

Grass Shark
01-14-2010, 07:05 PM