PDA

View Full Version : fertilization pricing

pjnlandscape
01-14-2010, 09:06 PM
i am new to fertilization and woulf like to know how everyone is calculating for lesco fertilizers and for my PITA customers Scotts fertilizer per application

thanks

Premier landscaping south
01-14-2010, 09:22 PM
I calculate all my prices on what it takes to make MY business money.

How much do you need per hour to make a profit? How long is it going to take you to drop that fert? How much the fert costs, etc.

Until you learn to charge what makes you money you will not be consistent with your estimates.

On average, yard around here will be 7,000-8,000 sq. and (w/Lesco fert) I will charge around $35.

hope this helps.

Oh yeah, nobody deserves Scotts. So treat everyone good my friend. It will pay off.

Landscape Poet
01-14-2010, 10:11 PM
i am new to fertilization and woulf like to know how everyone is calculating for lesco fertilizers and for my PITA customers Scotts fertilizer per application

thanks

I would charge them what your supplier charges you plus at least 15% if you supplier is close, more if Lesco or whoever you are using is further away and this is assuming you are picking everyones up at same time, charge more if you have to make more than one trip.

Then I would charge at least your hourly rate - make sure to include time it take s for you to water in etc. This is not really go to make you a lot of money but it will get you started.

Are you familiar with fertilizer? If not you may want to either not do it or make sure your liability insurance is covered because if you burn their yard then you will lose money reseeding the lawn. Also I am not sure of the varieties of turf you have up there, but for example down here, some fertilizer are ok for Bahia however will kill St. Augustine, those usually are ones which contain a weed n feed formula though, but I am sure this could be the case up there.