PDA

View Full Version : New Hydro walk behinds

yaharacer29
01-16-2010, 05:05 PM
How's it going? I am new to the business, this coming season will be my second year. I am going to upgrade my equipment during the offseason and need some advice from experienced people in the business. I started last year with my Papaw's 1971 Lawnboy push mower and some Stihl edgers and trimmers. Now I need to make the move and invest in something much larger. I am looking at hydro walk behind mowers. The new Scag Pro-V hydros are really nice, but a 52" is around the $6800 range. Also, I have seen that the Exmark hydro has come out with a ECS steering technology to compete with Scag's Pro-V. What are you guys using and should I invest in a new one or see if I can find a Hydro, floating deck pre-owned somewhere with a low mileage on it. I know the new ones come with a 3 year limited warranty. I appreciate your advice and good luck to all in the upcoming season.

slamjamrockinman
01-16-2010, 06:02 PM
I buy everything bigger than handheds used so your going to get a biased opinion but look for a good deal on a used one. Scan craigslist and the classifieds here right now. Prices will go up in the spring. Look for a used exmark, scag, or toro. Just make sure it has a turbo force if it's thr toro.
Posted via Mobile Device

Lazy Lightnin
01-16-2010, 07:31 PM
New (apples to apples) Scag's a better cutting machine. Not having to look back's always a plus:)

MikeKle
01-16-2010, 08:50 PM
You have been out of it for awhile if the ECS is new to you!! I personally hate the ECS handles, as after using them for over an hour or so, my thumbs get numb, But many guys love the ECS on here, Ive only heard from about 2 other people that have the issue I do. I would like to try to new Hustler WBs, their controls look very comfortable, almost like motorcycle controls.

rcslawncare
01-16-2010, 10:50 PM
You not interested in a regular ZTR?

hornett22
01-16-2010, 11:00 PM
feels awkward on hills.