PDA

View Full Version : Kawi or Kohler

Krafty
01-19-2010, 06:11 PM
I am looking at a brand new super z 60" deck for this up comming spring. The two motors I was looking at were the Kawi 31hp and the kohler 30hp. Just wanting to hear some thoughts on both motors. I have had good luck with kawi in the past, but I have no experience with kohler. They want a little bit more for the kohler is it that much better of a motor? Any and all comments and concerend greatly apperciated!

HARRIS Property Management
01-19-2010, 06:35 PM
Keep some oil on the truck if you go with Kohler.

Strictly my opinion as you will have several ideas and thoughts about each but I will never purchase another new mower witha Kohler. Just bought one last year on a Exmark Lazer and after my first 65 hours it would smoke every morning I started it for about 10 to 15 seconds. Took it in and the dealer tells me the Kohlers will drop a drop or two of oil on the piston that seeps thru the valve and it nothing to worry about as all engines do that. All this 2010 modern technology and Kohler cant fix a problem like that?? I have owned two Kawasakis prior and never once did they smoke when starting. Even when they sat for a month or two in winter. I change the oil every 75 hours and at 40 hours I have to add about a half of a quart. This mower currently only has about 250 hours on it. Never ever again will I own a Kohler! junk, junk, junk

JKOOPERS
01-19-2010, 06:36 PM
Kaw all the way

exclusive contracting
01-19-2010, 06:46 PM
thats funny that they are asking more money for the kohler i think kaw is a better choice

Krafty
01-19-2010, 07:21 PM