PDA

View Full Version : bidding concern

gator11
01-21-2010, 10:57 AM
I am new to this site and fairly new to the industry. I have seven years of experience working on a golf course. Two years of working on groundscrew of university I attended and a year of irrigation installation experience. Recently I started doing lawn care as a side business because people from my first business had asked if we would do that service for them. The problem I am running into is I feel I have been where I needed to be as far as costs on bigger acerage jobs, but yet I have been getting blown out of the water on pricing. I even gave a discount because of the size of the jobs? I am a firm believer of holding strong on pricing because i refuse to work for free. Any suggestions or should I just hold on untill I receive some jobs that prefer quality over pricing? Thank you for all and any help or suggestions. Also let me know if I am using this site wrong only been on one day!

djchiodo3
01-21-2010, 01:15 PM
What's to say that even the job you are doing for less then you want turns into something big. I never said no to work when I started. Always looked for an opportunity for more work, hoping that people would appreciate the good job. Sometimes I would lower my price just to get an account knowing that down the road the neighbor would hire me too because I did quality work. The more accounts you can get in one area the lower your expenses. Once you have been hired, offer the client rewards or referrals if he can get you the neighbor as well. If you lower your price a little to get the job you are not doing it for free you are being competitive.

MikeKle
01-21-2010, 03:16 PM