PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question, but I'll ask anyway . . .

amrupp
05-29-2002, 03:31 PM
I'm sold on the idea of a ztr for my one acre lawn. I currently use an old lawn tractor with a 50" cut, and it takes me a little over an hour to mow. Here's my stupid question: Do you overlap your cut with a zero turn the way you have to with a lawn tractor? I figure I overlap a good 8" right now, meaning I'm really only cutting 42". If I can find a decent 44" ztr and cut with little overlap, I may not need to spend the extra $$ for a 50 or 60" cut.

Thanks for your help.

Catcher
05-29-2002, 03:47 PM
Total novice speaking here,
I used to have a tractor and bought a ZTR a year ago; I used to overlap with the tractor as well as I do now with the ZTR.
I am able to keep the overlap down to a minimum with the ZTR, however - I only had 2 or 3 inches on the tractor.
I guess my stupid question is: why are you overlapping 8 inches?

If you're just in the mood for a new toy you may want to give the walkbehinds some consideration. They will give you a better cut than the tractor, are cheaper than a ZTR and probably just about the right size for an acre.

Russo
05-29-2002, 03:51 PM
You will save so much time with a ZTR that the larger deck size may not be worht the extra money. You'll have to overlapp a little with any mower, but the zero turn radius will allow you to mow a strip and then turn 180 degrees and mow the other direction. This is a BIG TIME time saver. If you haven't already, see if you can test one out.

Slightly smaller deck + zero turn radius = probably a wash.( time wise )

amrupp
05-30-2002, 10:08 AM
Catcher -