PDA

View Full Version : Would like your input

Dirt Boy
01-21-2010, 09:48 PM
I'm new to hardscaping, but have a person interested in "my" idea's for the attached picture.
Can't see everything, off to the right is a patio (walkout basement opens to the patio), and they would like steps with landings every so often coming from the patio, up and around the retaining wall, and up to the upper level, which is just to the back of the garage and would, I'm thinking, just stop at the top, perhaps go out to the grass.

I don't know if I'll do it or not, but I would like to stretch my brain around how to go about doing something like this.

Some of my thoughts were to include a sitting bench somehow into the retaining wall, or build out from it, could incorporate a waterfall feature, etc.

Guess since it's wintertime, I thought I would throw it out for some of you pro's that might like a little exercise!

Thanks a bunch

zedosix
01-21-2010, 10:55 PM
Quickly, first thing that comes to mind is to remove that eyesore of a retaining wall and incorporate a new set of steps with srw blocks. You may be able to veneer it if its constructed well but would still look weird in my mind. Good luck.

Dirt Boy
01-21-2010, 11:19 PM
That's a good idea, I hadn't thought of that. It could be removed I guess as much as desired, and it would give more area to work with.

castle555
01-21-2010, 11:52 PM
This looks like a pretty good project site -need picture to the right though.
I've done many yards and lots of elevation changes.
If you are planning steps, think safety first! You must consider the liability of creating a hazard people are going to use. Over 3' elevation -needs a handrail. People walking steps usually will fall while descending, so when considering a design I always use the 21" formula, a rise and tread total 21" or two rises and tread = 26" or 25"
For example, best layout for outdoor landscape is 6" rise and 15" run, or 4" rise and 17" run.