PDA

View Full Version : Customer can't afford price increase

South Florida Lawns
01-22-2010, 07:09 PM
I have a customer that I have been servicing since 2000, and just recently for the first time increased their rate 5%. This would be for the first of January, I just received payment late with a note saying they can't afford the increase right now and payed what I have been previously charging them.

With all that being said they are good customers that pay almost always on time, and are in a row of about 20 yards I maintain. I would like to keep them but its about time they start paying more for my services.

How would you handle this situation? Let them slide for a few months and raise price during summer? Or argue about the fact everything else is going up and you have to charge more.

I know my price and its about time for a rate increase.

WHIPPLE5.7
01-22-2010, 07:16 PM
Ask them if they are willing to keep your services if you postpone the increase till mid season. You wouldn't want to lose one close to other work like that unless you really had to.

JayD
01-22-2010, 07:18 PM
Wow........they are upset for a 5% increase and its the only raise in 10 years!
I would just go over there and talk with them. It may be true and it is a bad timing for them for some reason, but I would have to know why and it better be good, sense you have never raised them sense you started and not to mention that it has been 10 years....That's crazy

......and if it was not convincing, I'd be :walking::walking::walking::walking:

mowerbrad
01-22-2010, 07:26 PM