PDA

View Full Version : enclosed trailer question

docjones
01-24-2010, 06:45 PM
hey y'all....i'm driving a 1/2 ton silverado and wanting to buy an enclosed trailer. a local guy who hauls his motorcycles is selling a single axle 7x14 all aluminum trailer with a nice interior set up like electric, air compressor, water hookups, etc. it's only got 3500lb axle with the trailer being 1000lbs which gives me 2500lbs to haul. i'm new to the biz so don't have a ton of equipment yet but know i'll grow quickly so don't think going with smaller than 7x14 is wise. so the question is....if i have 3000 bucks to spend on trailer, is a tandem better to spend on even if it was a little smaller or heavier and with less stuff in it? i'm sure there's tons of posts on this subject but this seems to be kind of a unique trailer being 7x14 single axle and all aluminum. thanks in advance.

jeffslawnservice
01-24-2010, 06:57 PM
I have a 6x12 single axle now and am pulling it with an F-150. It does fine and I think you should be good pulling a 7x14 single axle. I would stay with a single axle trailer and not a double axle trailer in you plan on pulling it with a 1/2 ton truck. Best of Luck.

vanncann
01-24-2010, 08:56 PM
A single is going to be harder to control on a windy day, and no where as steady to pull as a tandem. 14 is a little long for a single axle in my opinion. JMHO.

mowerbrad
01-24-2010, 09:26 PM