PDA

View Full Version : Pros and Cons of a closed trailer and mower feedback

letzgoblues
01-27-2010, 08:48 AM
Just wanted to get a feel for wether an enclosed trailer or open trailer is better.
I would also like some feedback on the best equipment to purchase. I know that there will be a big debate about equipment but there must be some brands that are superior. I need to purchase everything. I have around 10,000 dollars saved up over the last 8 yrs. I am ready to be my own boss and want to do things in the most professional and successful manner. Any info would be great. I have already ordered business cards, secured a location for a trailer, started a website, and purchased a truck. I have about five years experience working for a very large lawncare company when I was younger. Thanks for the info!
Bryon

SangerLawn
01-27-2010, 01:53 PM
Personally I believe in closed trailers are the best however we do not run any and here is why. With a in closed trailer your stuff is always safe from a thief and the weather…except wind that blows a in closed trailer all over the road.

Inclosed trailer…

The biggest one is the cost. In closed trailers CAN run 4x to 10x as much as a open trailer.

Lots more lights that you have to keep working so you don’t get pulled over.

Im a tall guy and don’t like the idea of smacking my head

Takes more time to walk around trailer to get things you need. Open trailer you can grab and go from almost anywhere on the trailer.

Employees running mowers into the walls causing damage

Employees driving and an in closed trailer has lots of blind spots when driving.

More money to keep it looking nice.

Lots more but this is getting long….

Open trailer…

Fairly cheap

While driving you can see everything. If someone leaves a job and forgets to put back on trailer you can see it from the drivers seat that something is missing.

Never bang head

Easy to work on

Hope this helps?

mirrorlandscapes
01-27-2010, 03:06 PM