PDA

View Full Version : Stand on or Sit on

bladelady
01-28-2010, 04:10 PM
I'm new to lawn maintenance, though I've been in the landscaping business for years. I've signed up lawns for mowing at high end residential homes, .5 - 1.5 acres. I'll have a small walk behind mower for the detail stuff, but was wondering what's a good commercial grade mower for the larger open areas? sit on, stand on, walk behind? I'm planning on buying it new. Thanks for your help!:)

SangerLawn
01-28-2010, 04:17 PM
Lol…you do realize you are going to get about 100 different answers here right??

If you have the money I recommend a 60 inch rider. That is the perfect size for residential and large commercials. It will open you up so you can bid everything.

I owned or operated almost every kind of commercial mower on the market. Last year I bought a cub cadet commercial mower (THE TANK)…don’t laugh, it will run circles around our exmarks and great danes….make sure to check on out!!!! Been mowing for about 15 years and this is the best mower I ever ran

Bottom line, you have to buy something where there is a dealer near you. Unfortunately mowers do break and sometimes need major repairs. If you cant get the work done because no one services them you screwed.

hackitdown
01-29-2010, 10:47 AM
I'm new to lawn maintenance, though I've been in the landscaping business for years. I've signed up lawns for mowing at high end residential homes, .5 - 1.5 acres. I'll have a small walk behind mower for the detail stuff, but was wondering what's a good commercial grade mower for the larger open areas? sit on, stand on, walk behind? I'm planning on buying it new. Thanks for your help!:)