PDA

View Full Version : *********lasers**********

toomuchtime
01-29-2010, 09:46 PM
Im new to the excavation world so plase excuss my ingnorance.

We have a few pads on our property that need to be pulled down recompacted and leveled. I think I would like to purchacse a laser system to help in this and I would like to purchase a unit that I could use commerically if need be. Any recommendations? Can anyone explain how they work in dummy terms? Do the receivers attach to my machine or a grade stake?

Also there is a Proshot L1-AS single axis unit for sale near for me 600.00. what do you guys think about these?

Thanks in advance

Scag48
01-29-2010, 10:42 PM
Buy the most laser you can afford. Even if you're new to the biz, if you can afford a higher quality laser the first time, go for it. If you don't, you'll end up buying a higher quality laser down the road anyway.

With that said, my old man started out with a $600 Porter Cable laser from Home Depot. Worked for him the little bit that we used it but he upgraded to a Trimble a couple years later.

Lasers are quite simple. Whatever you buy, make sure it is self levelling. Dialing in on the bubbles is alright but a real PITA if you're in a hurry. I only used a non self levelling laser once and man it was a hassle since I was moving the laser multiple times during a regular work day.