PDA

View Full Version : hello from newbie

woodchuck
02-10-2010, 10:52 AM
Newbie here just wanted to say hello and ask a few questions about starting a small biz up here in vermont.
1. do you all recomend financing new equipment (mowers,weed eaters,tiller, etc) or try to buy the cheapest I can find
2. looking at cub cadet 48 inch walk behind hydro, honda 4 stroke weedeaters, and honda tiller all brand new. any input on these items...
3. I wanted to mow wed thur fri and do the hardscaping monday and tuesday, does this sound practical... I work alone with no employees.

thanx for any and all input and I am psyched to find this forum!! Keith

ProcsLC
02-10-2010, 12:21 PM
Hey Keith

The first red flag I noticed from your post was financing... I would NOT recommend doing that... What if you go out and finance 12k worth of equipment and get no customers? Instead, use the equipment you have or take some savings and buy decent used equipment until you are in a position to buy newer, bigger equipment.

Your first year in business should be spent on developing a solid customer base, doing the best possible job you can do, and utilizing the equipment you already have or can buy commercial grade used equipment.

Is this a full time venture for you or starting out part time? Take time now to develop a business plan, explore your "doing business costs"... Find out what you need to be a legit company with insurance and everything else in your area, its not as simple as buying a mower and having a ton of people hire you because you have a new shinny mower...

I am not trying to insult you in anyway, I just want to make sure (For your business) your not putting the cart before the horse... Also, when it comes to buying equipment your customer base is going to dictate what you need to buy... No sense buying a 48" mower deck if everyone of your customers will require a 32 or 36" to mow their back yards...