PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone...new guy here

Blade1963
02-10-2010, 08:01 PM
Hey guys Iím new here so I thought I would say hi. I have been reading for a while now but still have so many more questions. I will try to ask just a few at a time so the post does not go too long. I will give a little history about myself first. Iíve been cutting my own lawn for about 40 years. I have never really cut others as I would this time around. I have a full time job now so this would be part time starting. That seems to be what everyone recommends anyway. I am also a disabled veteran so Iím not sure how all this will go. I will start with the basic push mower. Iím thinking of just targeting the houses in my area. So with that said, hereís whatís unclear.
1) What do you guys think about the books and starting guides that are for sale on the internet? ďHow to start a lawn care businessĒ.
2) Can a guy do okay by just doing the basics? Mowing, trimming and blowing off the walkways.
3) Have any of you guys changed careers late in life?
Well thatís it for now. I have many more questions. But this will get us started.
Thanks
David:usflag:

mowerbrad
02-10-2010, 08:13 PM
I'll try to answer your questions as best I can...

1) I'm not big on the books that try and tell you how to start your own lawn care business. All that information is right on this website, just by reading threads and asking questions. So I really wouldn't spend money on them. I'm sure they have some very good information in them, but you should still be able to get that info from guys right on this site.

2) The basics is what everyone starts with usually. I actually like doing that best, mainly because its quick and I can knock out quite a few jobs in one day that way. And actually the "basics" is what alot of my customer want, they don't really want the whole full service.